13 avril 2018 Acterys

5 Conseils pour améliorer les rapports financiers dans Excel

Excel est probablement le logiciel d'application le plus complet et le plus utilisé. En plus de 20 ans dans l'industrie de la BI, je n'ai toujours pas vu une solution plus polyvalente. Chacun d'entre nous n'utilise probablement qu'une fraction de ce que cet outil peut faire et, souvent avec toutes les fonctionnalités de jeu ajoutées ces dernières années, pas à la hauteur de ses capacités actuelles. Voici mes conseils favoris 5 qui aident beaucoup de nos clients à utiliser Excel plus efficacement à des fins de reporting financier:

Séparer les données et la présentation

C'est l'essentiel, sur lequel j'ai aussi écrit un blog dédié: Excel Un jouet BI?. Si vous utilisez des volumes plus importants de données provenant d'autres sources disponibles dans un format structuré, évitez absolument de les copier et coller directement dans Excel. Excel n'a jamais été conçu pour être une base de données. Vous ne créerez que beaucoup de problèmes de maintenance et de performance. C'est 2018 il y a des options fantastiques pour établir une connexion en direct à vos données dans Excel particulièrement pris en charge par Requête d'alimentation ce qui vous permet d'intégrer facilement presque n'importe quelle source sous le soleil et de la transformer selon vos besoins. Contrairement à la copie et au collage, cette approche vous donnera un lien dynamique vers vos sources de données respectives et, à l'actualisation, la feuille de calcul reflétera automatiquement l'état actuel des données. Lorsque vous utilisez une importation de fichier à plat, celle-ci sera mise à jour en fonction de la dernière version du fichier ou de plusieurs fichiers plats. Vous pouvez configurer Power Query pour lier tous les fichiers d'un dossier de téléchargement. modèle.

Vues de formule

Celui-ci nécessite l'astuce avant: les rapports de formule nécessitent un "OLAP" source de données, par exemple Power Pivot (qui peut être un lien vers presque toutes les sources, par exemple, tables relationnelles, etc.) lorsque vous souhaitez stocker des données localement dans la feuille ou des solutions telles que SQL Server Analysis Services (tabulaire ou multidimensionnelle) une variété d'options tierces dans une configuration de serveur client.

Les vues de formule peuvent être lancées à partir de zéro ou en convertissant un tableau croisé dynamique (gardez à l'esprit qu'il est préférable de dupliquer au préalable le tableau croisé dynamique, sinon il sera perdu). L'avantage est que vous avez un rapport dynamiquement lié à vos données sources avec une flexibilité totale en ce qui concerne la mise en page (rapports asymétriques, par exemple l'année précédente / budget en cours de l'année) ainsi que d'excellentes options pour mettre à jour les structures de rapport:

Les tableaux croisés dynamiques

Je suis toujours étonné du nombre de professionnels de la finance qui n'utilisent pas la puissance inégalée de la table pivotante, qui offre une grande flexibilité pour la création de rapports (et l'utilisation d'Acterys pour la planification!). Mes astuces pas très connues ici: Utiliser l'exploration (double-cliquer sur une cellule) pour accéder aux enregistrements sous-jacents d'une cellule (malheureusement pas encore supporté avec DirectQuery), utiliser "Quick Explorer" pour explorer les détails d'une autre attribut de dimension et combiner des tableaux croisés dynamiques avec des graphiques croisés dynamiques. Voici quelques exemples:

Écran partagé pour travailler avec deux tableaux croisés dynamiques

Exploration rapide dans le tableau croisé dynamique

Mise en forme conditionnelle

La mise en forme conditionnelle est une excellente aide, en particulier avec le tableau croisé dynamique, qui peut même être configurée pour s’appliquer uniquement à des nuplets de mesure particuliers si vous utilisez une source OLAP telle que Acterys. Pour aider votre auditoire à comprendre les données «en un coup d'œil et à les mettre en perspective, par exemple, l'utilisation d'un format conditionnel de barre montrera immédiatement à l'utilisateur la signification d'une cellule avant de devoir consciemment regarder le nombre et indiquer les valeurs aberrantes. Ma recommandation ici: soyez discrète avec des couleurs pas trop difficiles pour les yeux et envisagez l’utilisation du format conditionnel pour indiquer le type de cellule, par exemple, par scénario de données: en utilisant une couleur de fond blanche pour les cellules normales et une ombrage pour un scénario différent, comme «budget». ”(Particulièrement important lorsque vous utilisez Acterys où les utilisateurs peuvent saisir des données dans le tableau croisé dynamique. Cela leur indiquera immédiatement où ils doivent entrer)

Conseils généraux de mise en page

Les milliers de feuilles de calcul de clients que j'ai vues contiennent souvent des idées absolument cruciales mais le plus souvent présentées d'une manière qui ne veut pas nécessairement que quelqu'un passe plus de temps que nécessaire avec eux parce qu'ils sont si horriblement laids. Trop souvent, je vois des cauchemars de couleur impétueuse. Voici quelques conseils:

Avec le titrage mon conseil: utilisez une zone de texte claire, cliquez dessus et ajoutez un lien dynamique dans la barre de formule par exemple = "Résultats financiers" & $ C $ 6 pour rendre votre titre indépendant de tous les changements sur la feuille et mettre à jour dynamiquement selon détails sélectionnés, par exemple dans ce cas en pointant sur la cellule qui contient l'heure et le nom de l'entreprise.

×

loader image

Share:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

5 Tips for better financial reporting in Excel

Our Favorite Tips For Financial Reporting in Excel

In this article I will cover a few helpful tips & tricks to improve your financial reporting and planning with Excel. In more than 20 years in the BI industry I still have yet to see a more versatile solution. All of us are still likely only using a fraction of what this tool can do and often -particular with all the game changing features added in the last few years- not up to its current capabilities. Here are my 5 favorite tips that help many of our clients to use Excel more effectively for financial reporting purposes:

Separate Data & Presentation

This is the essential one, on which I have also written dedicated blog: Excel A BI toy?. If you are using larger volumes of data from other sources available in a structured format, absolutely avoid copy & pasting it directly to Excel. Excel was never meant to be a database. You will only create a lot of maintenance and performance issues. This is 2018 there are fantastic options to establish a live connection to your data in Excel particularly supported by Power Query which allows you to integrate nearly any source under the sun super easily and transform it to your requirements. As opposed to copy and pasting, this approach will give you a dynamic link to your respective data sources and the spreadsheet will on refresh automatically reflecting the current state of the data. When using a flat file import it will either update based on the latest version of the file or with multiple flat files you can configure Power Query to link all files in an upload folder where the data of every new file will be automatically added to your data model.

Excel Formula Views

This one requires the tip before: formula reports require an “OLAP” data source for example Power Pivot (that can be link to nearly any source e.g. relational tables, etc.) when you want to store data locally in the sheet or solutions like SQL server Analysis Services (Tabular or Multi-Dimensional) as well as a variety of Third Party options in a client server configuration.

Formula views can be started from scratch or by converting a pivot table (keep in mind it is to best duplicate the Pivot Table beforehand as otherwise it will be lost). The benefit here is you have a report dynamically linked to your source data with complete flexibility in regards to the layout (asymmetric reports e.g. actual previous year/budget current year) as well as great options to update report structures based on formulas:

5 Tips for better financial reporting in Excel

Excel Pivot Tables

I am still amazed how many finance professionals are not making use of the unparalleled power of the Pivot Table which provides tremendous flexibility for reporting (and with using Acterys equally for planning!). My not so well-known tips here: Make use of drill through (double click on a cell) to get to the underlying records of a cell (unfortunately not supported with DirectQuery yet), use “Quick Explore” to drill into details for another dimension attribute and combine Pivot Tables with Pivot Charts. Here are a few examples:

Microsoft Power Business intelligence Planning Software | Bi Consulting Services | Acterys

Split Screen to work with two Pivot Tables

Quick Explore in Pivot Table
Quick Explore in Pivot Table

Insights Feature in Excel

Write-back on Pivot Table

With the Acterys Add-in you can also “write enable’ these formulas:

Conditional formatting

A great helper particular in conjunction with the Pivot table is conditional formatting (that can even be configured to apply only to particular measure tuples if you are using an OLAP source like Acterys). To help your audience understand data “at a glance and putting it in perspective for example using a bar conditional format will immediately show the user the significance of a cell before you have to consciously look at the number as well as pointing out outliers. My recommendation here: be subtle use colors not too hard on the eye and consider using  the conditional format to point out the type of cell e.g. by data scenario: using a white background color for normal cells and a shading for a different scenario like “budget” (particularly important when you are using Acterys where the users can enter data in the pivot table. This will immediately show them where they should enter)

General Excel Layout tips

The thousands of client spreadsheets that I have seen often contain absolutely crucial insights but more often than not presented in a way that is not necessarily wanting someone to spend more than the absolutely necessary time with them because they are so horribly ugly. Too often I see brash colored, grid nightmares. Here are a few tips:

5 Tips for better financial reporting in Excel

With the titling my tip: use a clear text box click on it and add a dynamic link in the formula bar e.g. =”Financial Results ”&$C$6 to make your title independent of all changes on the sheet and dynamically update according to details selected e.g. in this case by pointing to the cell that contains the time and the company name.

Available in: Dutch French Spanish

Recent Posts

Materialize and Synchronize Power BI with a Data Warehouse “Materialize” is a database concept that refers to storing the result

I can’t help smiling when I see legacy BI/Planning application vendors -that were not so long ago laughing away Power BI- coming out with their own “Power BI Integration” after Microsoft has turned around the industry. These are more often than not nothing but “a marketing spiel” to build on Power BI’s awareness and of very limited use in real life application scenarios.

Across many mid-sized and large companies, finance and operations teams are at crossroads. This was one of the findings from the recent BPM Pulse 2021 survey which revealed that only a third of companies had truly harmonized strategic, financial, and operational plans.

Power BI offers unparalleled features for analysis and visualization: in this post we explain the quickest way to connect Oracle Netsuite in Power BI Deskop and how you can add comprehensive planning and budgeting.After your account has been setup, click on the “Integration” menu and go to the “Oracle Netsuite” section:

The default visuals in Power BI are not perfectly suited for financial reporting. There are ways to realize more advanced financial reporting requirements using DAX as Managility describes in Income Statement using DAX These, though typically require intermediate knowledge of DAX that many financial professional don’t necessarily have.